When I was young, I was fascinated by all the phonemical variances Koran words could make (onomatopoeia) to describe how it sounds like when a stream runs: jol-jol-jol, jool-jool-jool, jil-jil-jil, jwal, jwal, jwal, and kwal-kwal-kwal. It was not only phenomenally outstanding and interesting, but also the people’s observations and analyses of those words with so many different ways to make sounds incredibly resemble to the nature of things. For me, it means that they were cognizant and patient enough to those little details in sounds of the nature!

Thus, naturally, I adore and respect Hangul; it is the most philosophical and scientific language on earth. Like Science historian John Man (n.d.) said, “Hanguel is the best alphabet that all the languages have dreamed of.” 한글은 모든 언어가 꿈꾸는 최고의 알파벳이다. –

At the same time, I love the beauty of English as well. For example, the number of vocabulary in English dazzles me. The Oxford Dictionary definition is approximately 500, 000 words, but if we count all the words that has more than one meaning such as have or get, it is fair to say that there are more than a million words.

So, I want to continue to learn more about them both. And I have a job to interact with and honor them both; translation and interpretation. I think I do have a very good job in the world. For me, it is a perfect match between a play and work, so I do enjoy translation and interpretation.

This blog is my story of interacting with those words and meanings. As you know, however, language is so tied into our cultural heritage, so there will be website links, articles, people’s stories, multimedia links, and many more other things about cultural aspects in this website as well.